The Australian Women in Music Awards ‘spotlight talented and passionate women who innovate’

Staff Writer’s Words

The Australian Women in Music Awards (AWMA) are bigger and better than ever in 2022, with artists like Tina Arena, Dizzy Doolan, Hot Brown Honey performing in a ceremony broadcast on ABC.

While taking place at the Tivoli in Brisbane, the AWMAs are a landmark event for the Australian music industry nationwide and part of a larger conference taking place on May 17-18 this year.

Awards just announced this year’s lineup including Tina Arena, Emma Donovan & Kee àhn, BARKAA & Dizzy Doolan, Sahara Beck, DJ Red Belly, Sandy Evans & Satsuki Odamura, Kween G & Lady Lash, Hot Brown Honey , Montaigne, Shakaya and Kaylah Truth.

Keep up to date with the latest music news, feature films, festivals, interviews and reviews here.

“These awards will recognize the talents of women across the country who inspire young girls around the world to follow their passion for music,” said Queensland Attorney General Shannon Fentiman. “The AWMA plays an important role in providing visibility on the challenges faced by women in the industry and helping to create more opportunities for Australian women in music, especially those from underrepresented backgrounds.

“The focus on First Nations and remote communities in this year’s program is particularly exciting, as it will provide fantastic development and exposure opportunities for emerging female talent. We still have some way to go when it comes to gender equality and diversity, but it’s events like these that provide a stage for these important conversations to take place.

The AWMAs will add one of the defining popstars of the 1980s, Olivia Newton-John, to its list of legends, inducting her alongside Helen Reddy and Judith Durham. There will also be a performance of a new classic composition by Elena Kats-Chernin titled ‘Jubilissima will be performed with trumpeter Leanne Sullivan.

Finalists of the Australian Women in Music Awards 2022

Life Achievement Award

FINALISTS: Keri McInerney, Kate Ceberano, Deborah Cheetham AO

Inaugural Tina Arena Special Impact Award

FINALISTS: Dina Basile, Sahara Herald, Sonja Horbelt

Humanitarian Award

FINALISTS: Gemma Farrell, Leigh Carriage, Nancy Bates

Music Diversity Award

FINALISTS: Alice Ivy, Eliza Hull, Mindy Meng Wang

Excellence in Classical Music Award

FINALISTS: Elena Kats-Chernin, Geneviève Lacey, Celia Craig

Artistic Excellence Award

FINALISTS: Katie Noonan, Dr. Eve Klein, Elena Kats-Chernin

Studio Production Award

FINALISTS: Antonia Gauci, Becki Whitton, Alice Ivy

Live Creative Production Award

FINALISTS: Annie Peterson, Jenny Moon, Kait Hall

Live Production Tour Awards

FINALISTS: Casey O’Shaughnessy, Sophie Kirov, Fanny Lumsden

Music Leadership Award

FINALISTS: Marianna Annas, Jodie Feld, Sahara Herald

Songwriter Award

FINALISTS: Dami Im, Tania Doko, Lisa Young

Emerging Artist Award

FINALISTS: GLVES, Vanessa Perica, Martha Marlow

Music Photographer Award

FINALISTS: Cybele Malinowski, Brittany Long, Michelle Pitiris

Filmmaker Award

FINALISTS: Aimée-Lee Xu Hsien Curran, Natalie van den Dungen, Lucy Knox

Music Journalist Award

FINALISTS: Jane Gazzo, Sosefina Fuamoli, Poppy Reid

Award for Excellence in Image Creation

FINALIST: Cindy Vogels

Creative Leadership Award

FINALISTS: Annie Peterson, Vanessa Hughes, Emily Ulman

Find out more about the Australian Women in Music Awards on their website here.

Comments are closed.