Top 20 Canadian Music Videos Nominated for 2021 Prism Prize

The nominees for the 2021 Prism Prize, an annual juried award recognizing outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos, were announced today.

Among the artists who received nods were Mustafa, Jessie Reyez, Savannah Ré, Clairmont The Second and TOBi.

The Grand Prize winner will be revealed and will receive $20,000 in a virtual presentation on Monday, July 26, 2021 at 8:00 PM EST. It will be streamed live on the Prism Prize Twitter and YouTube channels, as well as on its website. The prize will be awarded by a jury made up of more than 130 Canadian music, film and media arts professionals.

“As 2020 has been a tumultuous year, Canadian music video creators have seen the light in the darkness and produced some of the most poignant and introspective music in recent memory,” said Louis Calabro, Vice President of Programming. and awards at the Canadian Academy and founder of the Prism Prize. . “As disruptions to the music industry linger, we’re proud to shine a spotlight on these important works.”

The public can vote here for their favorite Top 20 video to help determine who will win this year’s People’s Choice Award. The list of ten finalists for the Prism Prize, meanwhile, is expected to be announced on June 9.

Here are the 2021 Prism Award nominees:

Andy Shauf, “Clove Cigarette” (directors: Colin Medley and Jared Raab)

Aquakultre, “Pay It Forward” (Directors: Evan Elliot and Lance Sampson)

Braids, “Young Buck” (director: Kevin Calero)

Clairmont The Second, “DUN” (Director: Clairmont The Second)

Daniela Andrade, “Tamale” (Directors: Justin Singer and Daniela Andrade)

Haviah Mighty, “Thirteen” (Director: Theo Kapodistrias)

Jessie Reyez, “Love in the Dark” (Director: Se Oh)

July Discussion, “Governess Shadow” (Director: Cosette Schulz)

Kandle, “Lock and Load” (director: Brandon William Fletcher)

Lido Pimienta, “Nada” (feat. Li Saumet) (director: Paz Ramirez)

Mustafa, “Air Forces” (directors: Glenn Michael and Christo)

Mustafa, “Stay Alive” (Director: King Bee Productions)

Rich Aucoin, “Walls” (Director: Jason Levangie)

Savannah Ré, “Opia Experience” (director: Yasmin Evering-Kerr)

Savannah Ré, “Solid” (Director: Alicia K. Harris)

Sean Leon, “90 BPM” (director: Sean Leon)

The weather station, “Robber” (Director: Tamara Lindeman)

TOBi, “24 (Toronto Remix)” (Director: Kit Weyman)

US Girls, “US$4” (directors: Emily Pelstring and Meg Remy)

Witch Prophet, “Tesfay” (Director: Leah Vlemmiks)

Comments are closed.