ASCAP Announces Winners of Screen Music Awards

Honoring composers whose music elevates the magic of the moving image, the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers has revealed the winners of the 2022 ASCAP Screen Music Awards. The event runs May 2-5 on the networks social @ASCAP and @ASCAPScreen on Instagram and opens with the winners of the coveted 2022 ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards.

The ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards are the only honors of their kind among American performing rights organizations – winners are chosen by the community of ASCAP composers and songwriters. Selected from an incredibly talented group of nominees, the 2022 winners created the music for an Oscar-winning musical animated film, a cinematic documentary examining the history of Black Wall Street and the Tulsa Race Massacre. , a satirical comedy-drama series and an intergalactic adventure. Game:

  • Film Music of the Year: Encanto – Germaine Franco
  • Documentary Music of the Year: Dreamland: The Burning of Black Wall Street – Amanda Jones
  • TV Music of the Year: The White Lotus – Cristobal Tapia de Veer
  • Television Theme of the Year: The White Lotus – Cristobal Tapia de Veer
  • Video Game Music of the Year: Ratchet and Clank: Rift Apart – Wataru Hokoyama

Germaine Franco

The 2022 ASCAP Screen Music Awards reflect the new golden age of streaming television, with composers from many of the past year’s hit series among the winners. They include Bear McCreary for his score for the Mind-Bending Sci-Fi Streamer’s Foundation, 23-year-old Jung Jae-Il and Park Min Ju for their work on the megahit record Squid Game and Lorne Balfe for his musical prowess featured in both adventures. fantastic. show The Wheel of Time and the drama mini-series Dopesick. Among the winners of the Top Streaming Film, Marius de Vries is recognized for his score on the Oscar-winning film CODA, and Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell win their first ASCAP Screen Awards for their music in the documentary Billie Eilish: The World’s a Small Vague.

In other high-profile categories, Top Box Office Film goes to Michael Giacchino for his epic score in Spider-Man: No Way Home box office history, and industry giant David Vanacore is named the big winner for Most Played Themes and Underscore for his work on shows such as Survivor, Naked & Afraid and Hell’s Kitchen. Composers Matthew Hawkins, Maurice “m.0.” Jackson and Neil Martin win Top Network Television Series for their main theme for NCIS, while John Sereda wins Top Cable Television Series for music featured in historical drama When Calls the Heart.

ASCAP Experience will host “Main Stream Music: Composing for TV in the Age of Streaming,” a special session of the ASCAP Screen Music Awards to close out the festivities on May 5 at 3:00 p.m. ET / 12:00 p.m. PT. Premiering on ASCAP’s YouTube channel, the panel will feature hit series composers Carter Burwell (The Morning Show), Natalie Holt (Loki) and Siddhartha Khosla (Only Murders in the Building). ASCAP Screen Music Award winners will explore how composers have contributed to the incredible cultural impact of streaming series during the pandemic. More information about ASCAP Experience is available at

Throughout the four-day social media celebration, the ASCAP Screen Music Awards will feature exclusive behind-the-scenes videos, tips, acceptance speeches and other surprises from the winning music creators. Starting at 12pm ET / 9am PT May 2-5, friends, fans and peers can join in the festivities via @ASCAP on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook and @ASCAPScreen on Instagram, using the hashtag #ASCAPAwards.

The full list of winners is available on the ASCAP website:

Comments are closed.