Basadi at the Music Awards 2022: all the nominees

Founded by entertainment entrepreneur and public relations professional Hloni Modise, the awards will honor and celebrate women in the music industry, including singers, rappers, performers, songwriters and producers.

DBN Gogo, Nomfundo Moh and Pabi Cooper lead the pack with three nominations each. DBN Gogo is up for Artist of the Year, DJ of the Year and Song of the Year awards, while Pabi Cooper was nominated in the SAMPRA Amapiano Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the year. Nomfundo Moh received nominations for Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Song of the Year.

Makhadzi, Lerato Kganyago, Simmy, Skye Wanda and Jamie-Lee Sexton have been nominated twice each.

The Kontemporêre Kunstenaar van die Jaar, Music Video Director of the Year, Gqom Artist of the Year and Kwaito Artist of the Year categories were dropped due to low turnout.

“We are proud of the caliber of nominees for the first-ever Basadi in Music Awards,” said Modise. “We send our congratulations and best wishes to our candidates. These awards put the power in the hands of the fan, supporter and lover of South African music. We owe a debt of gratitude to the voters who were so eager and enthusiastic to vote for their favourites. We call on them again to vote for the winners who will walk away with the prestigious trophies of the Basadi in Music Awards.

Below is the full list of nominees:

Artist of the year

  • Azana
  • Pabi Cooper
  • DBN Go
  • Holly Rey
  • Makhadzi
  • Nomfundo Moh
  • Simmy

SAMPRA Artist of the Year

  • Bohle
  • DJ Fonzi
  • Kamo Mphela
  • LadyDu
  • Pabi Cooper

Kaya959 Afropop Artist of the Year

  • Phumla Music
  • Amahle
  • Amanda Black
  • Nomfundo Moh
  • Skye Wanda

Sofn’Free Dance Artist of the Year

  • Lady X
  • Fox Lalova
  • Lizwi
  • Rethabile Khumalo
  • Simmy

Gospel Artist of the Year

  • Bathabile Skhosana
  • President
  • Mmatema
  • March Puleng
  • Tsusie

Newcomer of the year

  • President
  • Buhle Womculo
  • Millie Ngwalangwala
  • Ntomza
  • Paige

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year

  • box
  • Gigi Lamayne
  • Moozle
  • Nadia Nakai
  • Yachna

Songwriter of the Year

  • Amahle
  • Azana
  • Jamie Lee Sexton
  • Msaki
  • Skye Wanda

Traditional Artist of the Year

  • Basetsana Ba Setso
  • Tsamandebele sweets
  • Mphoroku Moritini
  • ntunja
  • Zipho Radebe

Pop artist of the year

  • Jamie Lee Sexton
  • Jacky Carpede
  • Holly Rey
  • Hello
  • Shechinah

AC Wines Jazz Artist of the Year

  • Zodwa Mabena
  • Linda Tshabalala
  • Shannon Mowday
  • Thembelihle Dunjana
  • Zoe Modiga

DJ of the year

  • DJ Zinhle
  • DBN Go
  • Lamiez Holworthy
  • Lerato Kganyago
  • Lesego M

Social Media Influencer of the Year

  • bad milk
  • Khanyissa Patricia
  • Mandz.Hot.Not
  • Mihlali Ndamase
  • Yaya Mavundla

Entertainment Radio Producer of the Year

  • Hlengiwe Khumalo – The super drive of Glenzito
  • Nthabiseng Mamabolo – Better Together
  • Nthabiseng Molapo – Afternoon Correction
  • Phila Tyekana – The Touch Down
  • Prudence Mathebula – The Midday Link

Entertainment Radio Presenter of the Year

  • Anele Mdoda – Anele and the club
  • Jabulile Vilakazi – Ghetto Sound Zone
  • Lebo Jojo Mokoena – The Opulent Life
  • Lerato Kganyago – The midday liaison
  • Minenhle Masondo – Behind the Curtain

Music show presenter

  • Anele Zondo – Massive Music
  • Ndlovu–Ugubhulwami helicopter
  • Lalla Hirayama – Massive Music
  • Lamiez Holworthy – Live amp
  • Lootlove – Mzanzi Magic Music Specials

Entertainment Journalist of the Year

  • Amanda Maliba – Sowetan
  • Doreen Molefe – Daily Sunshine
  • Kedibone Modise – The star
  • Patience Bambalele – Sowetan
  • Qhama Dayile – Drum Magazine

song of the year

  • Pabi Cooper – ‘Banyana ke Bafana’
  • DBN Gogo – ‘Bambéléla’
  • Makhadzi – ‘Ganama’
  • Nomfundo Moh – ‘Phakade Lami’
  • Shekinah – ‘Questions’

Stylist of the year

  • Boitumelo Katali
  • Mbalenhle Pokwane
  • Thobeka Mbane
  • Tsakane Ndlovu
  • Tshiamo Modisane

CEO Mosadi In Business Achievement Award

  • Dineo Ranaka
  • DJ Zinhle
  • Lerato Kganyago

Comments are closed.