Deceased Indigenous legends honored at Screen Music Awards

Three years after the awards were last presented in front of a live audience, the evening was co-hosted by actor Aaron Pedersen, singer and comedian Akina Edmonds and comedian Anne Edmonds.

Dean Ormston, chief executive of APRA and the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society (AMCOS), said the awards helped celebrate “our industry emerging from the shadow of the pandemic”.

“This year’s Screen Music Awards are a true celebration of the artistry of Australia’s screen music community…and a celebration of the brilliance of Australian composers on screen.”

Composer Hylton Mowday won best music for a documentary for an Emmy-winning Australian documentary Puff: Wonders of the Reef.

Composer and AGSC President Antony Partos shared the award for best television series or soap opera with Matteo Zingales for their work on the ABC series Total controlwith Deborah Mailman and Rachel Griffiths.

“It was so wonderful to host the awards again as a live event,” Partos said.

“The life of a film composer can be quite isolated at the best of times and the past few years have been particularly trying for many.


“The awards feel like we’re coming out of a long period of hibernation, and it’s the best feeling to hear your own music performed live in front of an audience again.”

Composer Nigel Westlake has received the Australian Screen Award Distinguished Service for his work in film and television.

“For more than three decades I have had the great privilege of working closely with many of Australia’s most visionary and dynamic directors,” said Westlake.

“I am deeply honored to be recognized for my contribution to the Australian film industry and consider myself fortunate to be part of such a hugely diverse, creative and passionate community of filmmakers.”


Australian Screen Distinguished Service
Nigel Westlake

Feature Music of the Year
Saliana Sept Campbell – The Herdsman’s Wife: The Legend of Molly Johnson

Best TV Theme
Caitlin Yeo– New Golden Mountain

Best Music for a Television Series or Soap
Antoine Partos, Matteo Zingales – Total control

Best Music for a Miniseries or TV Movie
Caitlin Yeo– New Golden Mountain

Best Soundtrack Album
Richard Tognetti, William Barton, Piers Burbrook de Vere – River

Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
William Barton, Piers Burbrook de Vere, Richard Tognetti – Spirit Voice of Enchanted Waters of River

Best Music for a Documentary
Hylton Mowday – Puff: Wonders of the Reef

Best Music for a Short Film
Wil Hughes – Still life

Best Music for Children’s Programming
Nerida Tyson-Chew – the abyss

Best Music for a Commercial
Lance Gurisik- Destination NSW: Feel New

Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Adam Gock, Dinesh Wicks- Chef, Anh’s brush with fame, Beauty and the Geek Australia

Comments are closed.