Dirty Dancing soundtrack arrives on vinyl to mark 35th anniversary E! News UK

The “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack is released on vinyl to mark the 35th anniversary of the iconic romantic comedy.

The 1987 classic starred the late Patrick Swayze and Jennifer Gray as lovers Johnny Castle and Frances ‘Baby’ Houseman.

Jimmy Ienner’s soundtrack includes two multi-platinum albums and several singles.

“(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life”, performed by Bill Medley and Jennifer Warnes, won the Oscar for Best Original Song, the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song and the Grammy Award for Best Performance pop of a Duo or Group with Vocals.

To mark the milestone, a special collectible watermelon-colored vinyl edition of “Dirty Dancing (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)” will arrive on October 14.

The full soundtrack album side A/side B playing order, with all twelve tracks as they were meant to be heard.

As a personal touch, the vinyl comes with a watermelon-scented sticker.

The blockbuster grossed $214 million worldwide and became the first film to sell over a million copies on the home video market.

The film’s popularity led to a 2004 prequel, “Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights”, a stage adaptation and a 2017 TV remake.

A new sequel is planned for 2024.

It will be directed by Jonathan Levine, who recently teased that Swayze – who died of pancreatic cancer aged 59 in 2009 – “is part” of the plot.

The ‘Warm Bodies’ director said: “Johnny is part of Baby’s journey through history.

This film exists in a dialogue with the original. We want to introduce this story to a whole new generation. That said, Johnny’s absence is a big part of the story, so it’s a coming-of-age story but also a coming-of-age story for Baby’s character in a way.

Erin Westerman, President of Production at Lionsgate added: “’Dirty Dancing’ is more than a film – it’s a cultural touchstone that continues to be a rite of passage. As we approached the next chapter, we knew we had to honor the depth, relevance, and warmth of the original. We were lucky to have Jennifer as our guide and we’re delighted to have Jonathan alongside her at the helm, as everything he does is textured and romantic – he always gives us goosebumps.

Pre-order now via dirtydancing1.lnk.to/WatermelonDisc.

Dirty Dancing (Movie Soundtrack) Track Listing:

In front of

1. “(I’ve Had) The Time of My Life” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Bill Medley, Jennifer Warnes

2. “Be My Baby” – The Ronettes

3. “She’s Like the Wind” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Patrick Swayze

4. “Hungry Eyes” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Eric Carmen

5. “Stay” – Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs

6. “Yes” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Merry Clayton


1. “You Don’t Own Me” – The Blow Monkeys

2. “Hey! Baby” – Bruce Channel

3. “Overload” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Alfie Zappacosta

4. “Love is Strange” – Mickey Sylvia

5. “Where are you tonight?” (from the “Dirty Dancing” soundtrack) – Tom Johnston

6. “(I’ll Remember) In the Silence of the Night” – The Five Satins

Comments are closed.