Ed Sheeran and Adele top Ivor Novello Award nominations – Up News Info

Ed Sheeran, Adele and Inflo lead the nominations for the 2022 Ivor Novello Awards.

The Shape of You singer picked up three nominations for this year’s awards, which recognize outstanding songwriting and composition, including Songwriter of the Year and PRS For Music Most Performed Work for Shivers and Bad Habits.

Adele picked up two nominations, including Songwriter of the Year and Best Song Musically and Lyrically for her comeback single Easy on Me.

Songwriter and producer Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover is the most nominated artist with four nominations, including three in the Best Album category for his work on Mother by Cleo Sol, Nine by Sault and Sometimes I Might Be Introvert by Little Simz.

Other nominees for Best Album include Laura Mvula’s Pink Noise and Sleaford Mods’ Spare Ribs.

Other songs competing with Ed’s Bad Habits and Shivers for the PRS For Music Most Performed Work award include Joel Corry’s Bed, Raye and David Guetta, Elton John and Dua Lipa’s Cold Heart and Tom Grennan’s Little Bit Of Love.

Ed and Adele take on Coldplay, Dave and Raye for the Songwriter of the Year honor.

The nomination comes a day after a judge ruled the Castle on the Hill hitmaker did not plagiarize Sam Chokri’s Oh Why when he premiered his 2017 hit Shape of You.

The 2022 Ivor Novello Awards will take place on May 19.

The main list of nominees is as follows:

Songwriter of the Year:


cold play


Ed Sheeran


Best Album:

Mother – Written by Cleo Sol and Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover (portrayed by Cleo Sol)

Nine – Written by Cleo Sol, Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Jack Peñate (portrayed by Sault)

Pink Noise – Written by Dann Hume and Laura Mvula (performed by Laura Mvula

Sometimes I Might Be Introverted – Written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz (performed by Little Simz)

Spare Ribs – Written by Andrew Fearn and Jason Williamson (performed by Sleaford Mods)

Best Contemporary Song:

Body – Written by Gotcha, Russ Millions and Tion Wayne (performed by Russ Millions & Tion Wayne)

Coming Back – Written by James Blake, Dominic Maker, Starrah and SZA (performed by James Blake ft. SZA)

Don’t Judge Me – Written by FKA Twigs, Fred again.. and Headie One (performed by FKA Twigs, Headie One, Fred again..)

I Love You, I Hate You – Written by Dean ‘Inflo’ Josiah Cover and Little Simz (performed by Little Simz)

Just For Me – Written by Mura Masa, PinkPantheress, Mike Kinsella, Steve Holmes and Steve Lamos (portrayed by PinkPantheress)

Best Song Musically and Lyrically:

All You Ever Wanted – Written by Mike Elizondo, Natalie Hemby, Ben Jackson-Cook and Rag’n’Bone Man (performed by Rag’n’Bone Man)

Easy On Me – Written by Adele and Greg Kurstin (performed by Adele)

Haunted House – Written by Sarah Aarons, Holly Humberstone and Rob Milton (portrayed by Holly Humberstone)

Let’s Go Home Together – Written by James Arthur, Tom Barnes, Ella Henderson, Pete Kelleher and Ben Kohn (performed by Ella Henderson and Tom Grennan)

Seventeen Going Under – Written by Sam Fender (performed by Sam Fender)

PRS for Most Performed Work in Music

Bad Habits – Written by Fred again.., Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran (portrayed by Ed Sheeran)

Bed – Written by David Guetta, Jin Jin, Raye and Giorgio Tuinfort (portrayed by Joel Corry, Raye and David Guetta)

Cold Heart (PNAU Remix) – Written by Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Andrew Meecham & Dean Meredith (performed by Elton John & Dua Lipa)

Little Bit Of Love – Written by Daniel Bryer, Tom Grennan and Mike Needle (portrayed by Tom Grennan)

Shivers – Written by Kal Lavelle, Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid and Ed Sheeran (portrayed by Ed Sheeran)

Best Original Film Score:

After Love – Chris Roe

Censor – Emilie Levienaise-Farrouch

Last Night in Soho – Steven Price

Spencer – Jonny Greenwood

The World to Come – Daniel Blumberg

Best Television Soundtrack:

Spirit Blitz with Lucy Worsley – Jessica Dannheisser

Landscapers – Arthur Sharpe

Robin Robin – Ben Please and Beth Porter

The Outlaws – Stew Jackson and Dan Jones

The Serpent – Dominik Scherrer.

Comments are closed.