Lethal Bizzle’s AIM Awards Honor E! News UK

Lethal Bizzle is set to receive the Outstanding Contribution Gong at next month’s AIM Independent Music Awards.

The 37-year-old London rap legend – whose real name is Maxwell Owusu Ansah – will take the stage at the ceremony at London’s Roundhouse on September 28, where he will treat the crowd to a set including ‘Rari WorkOut’, ‘Fester Skank ‘ and ‘Pow! (Forward)’.

The Grime superstar said of the industry recognition, “It’s nice to have your flowers when you can still smell them.”

It has also been confirmed that indie legends The Libertines will take the stage on the night for an intimate performance.

A third act will be announced for the live awards show in due course.

FKA Twigs, Dave and Wet Leg are among the most nominated artists.

The ceremony celebrating the hottest indie acts the UK has to offer sees ‘Killer’ singer and rap superstar Dave leading the way with two nods apiece.

The two stars will compete for the best independent track in association with Meta.

Twigs’ “Tears in the Club” featuring The Weeknd, Dave’s “Starlight” and indie duo Wet Leg’s “Chaise Longue” will take on Nova Twins’ “Antagonist”, Yves Tumor’s “Jackie” and Wu- Read Home’ for the price.

Twigs, 34, is also nominated for Best Independent EP/Mixtape – a brand new category – for ‘CAPRISONGS’, while Dave’s ‘We’re All Alone In This Together’ is shortlisted for Best Independent Album in association with Spotify.

Twigs previously won Independent of the Year for “Two Weeks” in 2014, while in 2020 “Magdalene” was named Best Second Album.

Wet Leg – consisting of Rhian Teasdale and Hester Chambers – will fend off Nova Twins, Knucks, Children of Zeus and Warmduscher to be crowned Britain’s best independent breakthrough act.

The personalities to watch for 2023 are: Barry Can’t Swim, Jeshi, Léa Sen, Nia Archives and TAAHLIAH.

The Best Live Performer accolade will be decided by a fan vote, open now via www.aimawards.co.uk/best-live-performer.

Arlo Parks was the big winner at last year’s ceremony.

The ‘Hope’ singer picked up two awards at the annual awards ceremony after being named winner of the UK Independent Breakthrough Award and Best Independent Album for her highly acclaimed debut album, ‘Collapsed in Sunbeams’.

Tickets for the live show are available via www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/aim-awards-live-with-the-libertines-lethal-bizzle-and-more-tickets-403348936527.

The nominees are:

UK Independent Breakthrough in association with YouTube Music

Children of Zeus (First Word Records)

Warmduscher (Bella Union)

Knucks (no days off)

Nova Twins (Marshall Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International breakthrough in association with Deezer

Amyl the Sniffer (Raw Trade)

Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)

Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)

Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best Independent Track in association with Meta

Anz – ‘You Could Be’ (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)

Dave – ‘Starlight’ (neighborhood recordings)

FKA Twigs – ‘Tears in the Club’ ft. The Weeknd (Young Recordings)

Jeshi – ‘Protein’ feat. Obongjayar (Because the music)

Knucks, SL – ‘Nice Good’

Nova Twins – ‘Antagonist’

Overmono – ‘So U Kno (XL Recordings)

Wet Leg – ‘Chaise Longue’

Wu-Lu – ‘Broken Homes’ (Warp Records)

Yves Tumor – ‘Jackie’ (Warp Records)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

FKA Twigs – ‘CAPRISONGS’ (young recordings)

Joy Orbison – ‘always slipping vol.1’ (XL Recordings)

Surya Sen – “At what cost?” (Skint Recordings)

TAAHLIAH – ‘Angelica’ (untitled (recs))


Best Independent Album in association with Spotify

Boj – ‘Gbagada Express’ (Moves Recordings)

Children of Zeus – ‘Libra’ (First Word Records)

Cleo Sol – ‘Mother’ (Forever Living Originals)

Dave – “We’re All Alone Together”

Dave Okumu – ‘Knopperz’ (Neighborhood Records)

Emma-Jean Thackray – ‘Yellow’ (Movement)

Mustafa – ‘When the Smoke Rises’ (Young)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’ (ATO Records)

SAULT – ‘NEW’ (Forever Living Originals)

Walt Disco – ‘Unlearning’ (lucky number)

Better [Difficult] Second album in association with BBC 6 Music

Black Country, New Road – ‘Ants From Above’ (Ninja Tune)

Jana Rush – ‘Painful Lights’ (Planet Mu Records)

Nilüfer Yanya – ‘Painless’

Ross From Friends – ‘Tread’ (Brainfeeder)

Tirzah – ‘Colourgrade’ (Domino Record Company)

Best Independent Remix

ATO – ‘no carolina remix’ (FLOHIO) (MCMXCV)

Erike de Casier – ‘Polite (Mura Masa Remix)’ (4AD)

Ibeyi – ‘Lavender Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith (Champion Remix)’ (XL Recordings)

MF DOOM – ‘Gazzillion Ear (Thom Yorke Man on Fire Remix)’ (Lex Records)

Shygirl – ‘BDE (Kaydy Cain Remix)’ (Because Music)

One To Watch in association with the BBC

Barry can’t swim (Technicolor/Ninja Tune)

Jeshi (because the music)

Lea Sen (Partisan Records)

Nia Archives (HIJINXX)


Comments are closed.