Myke Towers, Camilo, ‘Dakiti’, Sony Win 2022 ASCAP Latin Music Awards – Billboard

Rising rapper Myke Towers is the 2022 Songwriter of the Year, while Colombian pop star Camilo won Songwriter/Artist of the Year at the 2022 ASCAP Latin Music Awards.

The Latin song of the year is the worldwide hit “Dákiti”, performed by Jhay Cortez and Bad Bunny and written by ASCAP songwriters Cortez and Mora with Bad Bunny and Tainy. Sony Discos Music Publishing won Publisher of the Year for credits in a host of songs.


See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

The winners of the Performing Rights Society’s annual awards – which recognize the best songwriters, producers and publishers behind Latin music’s biggest hits – were announced today (May 23) on the company’s social media channels. ‘ASCAP instead of the traditional in-person dinner that ASCAP has long hosted.

Towers, a versatile rapper with distinctive lyrics and vocals, won Songwriter of the Year honors for his single “Bandido,” which reached No. 4 on Billboard’s Hot Latin Songs chart, as well as his role in “Pareja del del” by Sebastian Yatra. Año” and other hits including “La Nota” and “La Curiosidad”.

For his part, Camilo has shown the viability of pop over the past year with hits like “Despeinada,” “Millones,” “Vida de Rico,” and “Tattoo,” all of which topped Latin Airplay charts. Billboard, a phenomenal performance for a pop act.

As for Song of the Year, it’s hard to quibble with global hit “Dákiti,” the #1 song on Billboard’s year-end Hot Latin Songs chart, where it spent an astounding 27 weeks. at number 1.

Sony Discos Music Publishing wins the Publisher of the Year award for the second time in a row, thanks to its participation in hits such as the Top Latin Hits of 2021, including “De Vuelta Pa’ La Vuelta” (Marc Anthony), “Ram Pam Pam” (Nathy Natasha), “Bandido” (Myke Towers) “El Problema” (Daddy Yankee), “Vida de Rico” (Camilo), “Volví” (Aventura and Bad Bunny), “Un Amor Eterno” (Marc Anthony) and “Botella Tras Botella” (Gera MX and Christian Nodal), among others.

In what is becoming an increasingly important trend in Latin music, many of this year’s winning songwriters also manage the artists, publishers or other songwriters of the winning songs. The long list of managers/songwriters who have won awards this time around thanks to their writing credit in the winning songs includes José Pérez Díaz, Lex Borrero, Camille Marie Soto Malavé, Juan Camilo Vargas, Raphy Pina, José Pérez Días and Franklin Martínez, among others.

Comments are closed.