Queensland Music Awards 2022 finalists

Nearly 70 Queensland artists and bands will compete in 17 categories at the Queensland Music Awards (QMA) 2022 ceremony at the end of next month in Brisbane.

The assorted list of finalists showcases a diversity of talent across the state, both established names and emerging talent headed for bigger stages.

With a who’s who of Queensland’s music industry gathering under the chandeliers of Fortitude Music Hall (March 29), QMAs is produced by QMusic.

“We have some of the most exciting names in Australian music vying for awards including The Jungle Giants, Ball Park Music, DZ Deathrays, WAAX, Casey Barnes, Eves Karydas, Nat Dunn, Sampology and Golden Vessel,” said Kris Stewart, CEO of QMusic.

“The QMAs are also a golden opportunity to be among the first to hear from the next big names in music such as Hope D, Zheani, Felivand, Hallie, Freight Train Foxes, Hayley Marsten, Hollow Coves and iiiConic.

“I invite music lovers of all genres to reserve their tickets today and join us at Fortitude Music Hall for what will be a stellar evening of good times and great music.”

Created in 2010 in honor of the late Billy Thorpe, the four finalists for the 2022 Billy Thorpe Scholarship were also named: Alex Edwards, CLOE TERARE, DENNIS. and Jem Cassar-Daley. The winner will receive $10,000 to record professionally as well as a career planning package.

“Queensland’s contemporary music sector continues to blaze a trail of hope, healing and happiness,” said Arts Minister Leeanne Enoch.

“These four talented nominees are just a small part of live music’s significant and vibrant contribution to our state’s diverse artistic and cultural offering.”

Meanwhile, the state’s top major festivals and events as well as music venues (metro and regional) will compete for three prizes for the People’s Choice Awards (presented by Oztix and scenestr), with voting now open. .

Public voting with input from a panel of industry experts will decide the winners. Everyone who votes is in the running to win an overnight stay at New Farm’s Calile Hotel and a double pass to the 2022 AMQ ceremony.

The Queensland Music Awards 2022 take place at Fortitude Music Hall (Brisbane) on March 29.


Blues / Roots

Blues Arcadia – ‘Follow the leader’
Freight train foxes – ‘Cardboard satellites’
Tuesday Wilson – ‘Salty’
Sue Ray – ‘Take me somewhere else’

Children’s music

Angela Petit – “Dino Boogie”
Fabulous lemon drops – ‘Dinosaur Boogie’
The Mini Moshers – ‘New shoes’
The oscillating bus – ‘It hurts’

Contemporary Classic

Australian Vocal Ensemble (AVÉ) – “Suburb”
Corrina Bonshek – ‘Dreams of the Earth’
Danny Widdicombe – “Spiro”
Thomas Green – ‘Five dances carried away (movement 3)’

The country

Brad Boucher – “Cutting People’s Grass”
Camille Trail – “I know I’m hard to love”
Casey Barnes – “God took his time for you”
Hayley Marsten – “Drawn myself”


golden vessel – ‘Go forward’
The Giants of the Jungle – “Treat yourself well”
Nat Dunn, Hayden James, Gorgon City – “Infallible”
Sampology – “Run everywhere”


Andrea Kirwin – ‘Beautiful morning’
Asha Jefferies – ‘Cry Baby’
hollow creeks – ‘Blessings’
Tim Hart – ‘Steady as she goes’


DZ Deathrays – ‘All or nothing’
Mass air raid – ‘Arrows’
the stranger – ‘Eleventh Hour’
Zheani – ‘F… The Hollywood cult’


Tha Kid’s Creed – ‘Body’
DAY 1 – ‘Limit’
iiiConical – ‘Agreed’
Nebzy – ‘Catalyst’


bed shelves – ‘Wait a moment’
ELEEA – ‘Red wine’
Jem Cassar Daley – “Let go”
Sachem – ‘Mother land’


IMPULSE Orchestra – ‘Sound figure’
Luke Cuerel Quintet – ‘MARPG’
Milton Man Gogh – ‘See you around the traps (for John Condon)’
Valtozash – ‘Pedal E’


Asha Jefferies – ‘Cry Baby’
Eves Karydas – ‘Lemonade’
The Giants of the Jungle – “Signs of Love”
Sycco – ‘My Ways’


ball park music – ‘Solar cream’
Hallie – ‘Baby sitter’
Hope D – ‘addict’
WAX – ‘Most Hated Girl’


FELIVAND – ‘Where have you been’
iyah can – ‘XO Girl’
miiesha – “Made for Silence”
Yb. – ‘Coffee’


Andrea Kirwin – ‘Firenze’
ember day – “Oceans apart”
Matt Hsu’s Dark Orchestra – ‘Welcome to the neighborhood: Taiwan (就當家裡)’
Menaka Thomas – ‘On the horizon’

Youth (10-17 years old)

Abi Muir – ‘Always the same’
Amy Elise – ‘Only 16’
Bella Mackenzie – “It’s not for you”
Paulina – “Parasite”

Regional / Remote

miiesha – ‘Damaged’
Nat Dunn, Hayden James, Gorgon City – “Infallible”
Sahar Beck – ‘Want me’
Tia Gostelow – ‘Valley Nights feat. Sahara Beck and Hope D’


Deena Lynch – ‘Who died and made you king?’ (Jaguar Jonze)
Jennifer Embelton – ‘Where have you been’ (Felivand)
Macario De Souza, Allan Hardy, Dayna Yates, Cam Pianta, Tyson Lloyd, Kelly Holden – ‘Every Single Time’ (Example with What So Not & Lucy Lucy)
Nathalie Sim – ‘Astronaut’ (Jaguar Jonze)

2022 Billy Thorpe Scholarship Finalists

Alex Edwards
Jem Cassar Daley

The nominees for the 2022 People’s Choice Awards

Metro Venue of the Year

The Fortitude Music Room
HOTA House of Arts
The junk bar
Miami Market
Mo Desert Clubhouse
Lefty’s Music Room
The Princess Theater
Workshop 188
The Tivoli
Chat bar
The Triffid
The zoo

Regional Venue of the Year

quarter of the night
Eleven Dive Bar
Tank Arts Center

festival of the year

Agnes Blues, Roots & Rock Festival
Airlie Beach Music Festival
The Big Red Bash in Birdsville
Entertainers by the lake
Earth Frequencies Festival
Hidden Alleys Festival
Jungle Love Festival
NOOSA alive!
Waghorn to the west
The low

Comments are closed.