SESAC 2022 Nashville Music Awards Winners: Full List – Billboard

It was a classy evening in more ways than one on Sunday (November 6), as performing rights organization SESAC celebrated the writers and music publishers who contributed to the world’s most played country and American songs. year in a ceremony held at the Country Music Hall of Fame in Nashville. and Museum.


See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

More than 400 songwriters, publishers and music industry executives attended the festivities, which were led by SESAC’s Vice President of Creative Services, Shannan Hatch.

“It’s so great to be here in person to celebrate our writers and our affiliates,” Hatch said.

Indeed, as the evening marked the first time the SESAC Nashville Music Awards had been held in person in three years, the celebration had the characteristics of an intimate homecoming, as writers, artists and members of industry mingled throughout the cocktail hour and the ceremony itself.

Confirmed hitmakers and newcomers alike offered a slew of new music. SESAC affiliates Lee Brice and Blanco Brown kicked off the evening by teaming up for a rendition of Brice’s Gold certified release “Soul”.

“Fancy Like,” the Walker Hayes-recorded juggernaut hit that hit No. 3 on the Billboard Hot 100 and spent 24 weeks at No. 1 on BillboardLast year’s Hot Country Songs chart (not to mention being the song that brought the Oreo shake back to the Applebee’s menu) was named song of the year.

‘Fancy Like’ co-writer Josh Jenkins named SESAC Country Songwriter of the Year; Jenkins is also a writer on the “Buy Dirt” chart, recorded by Jordan Davis with Luke Bryan. “Buy Dirt” recently won NSAI Song of the Year honors and is up for Song of the Year and Single of the Year at the CMA Awards on Wednesday (November 9).

“Some call it providence, I call it God’s grace — put someone like me around so many amazing people,” Jenkins said. “No man is an island and I’m around so many amazing people. I have to come here and say something, but I feel like that price is [for] so many people believe that…songs can impact people,” he added, thanking everyone at SMACK for their support.

Hayes also sent a video message honoring Jenkins and revealing “Fancy Like” as the SESAC Country Song of the Year.

“I couldn’t be more proud of you. I love you so much. Thank you, first of all, for being my brother in Christ, but man, you’re a great writer. God gave you a gift,” Hayes told Jenkins via video.

“Fancy Like” publisher SMACK (led by Grammy-winning writers Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne) was named Publisher of the Year, having won the honor in 2020. SMACK is also a publisher of other award-winning songs by SESAC this year, including “Buy Dirty”, “7500 OBO” and “Comme j’aime la musique country”.

Jordan Davis joined his brother Jacob Davis and their co-writers and sibling duo Josh and Matt Jenkins to perform “Buy Dirt,” while indie artist Megan Moroney performed her viral hit “Tennessee Orange,” which currently sits at No. 24 on BillboardThe Hot Country Songs chart from . Moroney wrote the song with David Fanning, Ben Williams and Paul Jenkins, and with production directed by Kristian Bush.

“Come on dawgs,” Moroney said simply, after wrapping up an understated acoustic rendition of the track.

Derek Wells received the Spirit of SESAC award, recognizing his musical contributions by performing on many chart-topping songs. One such hit, “Like I Love Country Music” (recorded by Kane Brown and co-written by SESAC affiliate Matt McGinn) was also honored with a performance activity award at the celebration. Singer-songwriters Brinley Addington, Joey Hyde, Mike Walker, Aaron Eshuis, Phil Lawson and Allison Veltz Cruz teamed up for a medley of songs Wells contributed to, including “Homesick”, “Love You Like I Used To” and “What If I Never Forget You.

“It’s shocking to me,” Wells said of the honor, and quickly shifted the spotlight to songwriting. “Everything I’ve contributed to a record has been inspired by the song that’s in front of you. Without songwriters, people like me wouldn’t have a job or a platform. He also thanked SESAC “for being a champion of songs and creators.”

The evening ended as attendees continued to celebrate this year’s winners, as servers passed out Oreo milkshakes to guests.

The full list of 2022 SESAC Nashville Music Awards winning songs and SESAC winners is below:

    Written by: Josh Jenkins
    Published by: Follow Me Where I Go, SMACK Songs, Kobalt Group Publishing
    Recorded by: Walker Hayes
    Written by: Josh Jenkins
    Published by: Follow Me Where I Go, SMACK Songs, Kobalt Group Publishing
    Recorded by: Jordan Davis ft. Luke Bryan
    Written by: Zac Brown, Ben Simonetti
    Published by: Day For The Dead Publishing, Kobalt Group Publishing
    Recorded By: Zac Brown Band
    Written by: Jimmie Allen
    Published by: Juliet Endurance, Sony Music Publishing
    Recorded by: Jimmie Allen and Brad Paisley
    Written by: Jennifer Wayne
    Published by: Wild Wild Wild West Songs, BMG Silver Songs
    Recorded by: Keith Urban
  • “7500 OBO”
    Written by: Matt McGinn
    Published by: McGinndependence Day, SMACK Songs, Kobalt Group Publishing
    Recorded by: Tim McGraw
    Written by: Joe Fox
    Published by: Liz Rose Music, Warner Chappell Music
    Recorded by: Jon Pardi
    Written by: Matt Alderman
    Published by: Good Vibes Good Times Music, Curb Congregation Songs
    Recorded by: Mitchell Tenpenny
    Written by: Matt McGinn
    Published by: McGinndependence Day, SMACK Songs, Kobalt Group Publishing
    Recorded By: Kane Brown
  • “AT THE TOP”
    Written by: Jeremy Bussey
    Published by: Hit By The Buss Music, Songs of Fluid, Spirit Music Nashville
    Recorded by: Luke Bryan
    Written by: Casey Brown
    Posted by: Blue Corolla Oklahoma, Feel Your Creative Pulse Music
    Recorded by: Russell Dickerson
  • “23”
    Written by: Chris LaCorte
    Published by: Card Tables Music, Concord Tunes, Hang Your Hat Hits
    Recorded By: Sam Hunt
    Written by: Ray Wylie Hubbard
    Published by: Snake Farm Publishing, BMG Silver Songs
    Recorded by: Ray Wylie Hubbard
    Written by: Hayes Carll
    Published by: Highway 87 Publishing, BMG Silver Songs
    Recorded by: Hayes Carll
    Written by: Erin Rae
    Published by: Good Memory, Confidentially Canadian Publishing
    Recorded by: Erin Rae
    Written by: Sierra Ferrel
    Published by: Abel Elba, Pulse Music Publishing
    Saved by: Sierra Ferrell
    Written by: Jim Lauderdale
    Published by: Wudang Mountain Songs, BMG Silver Songs
    Recorded by: Jim Lauderdale

Comments are closed.