The Academy of Country Music Awards airs on Amazon tonight

Host Dolly Parton opened the Academy of Country Music Awards Monday night by dedicating the show to the people of Ukraine amid the Russian invasion.

“I don’t want to play politics, I’d rather have a kidney stone than do this,” Parton said from the ACM stage at Allegiant Stadium in Las Vegas. “But I want us to send our love and hope to our brothers and sisters in Ukraine. So why don’t we dedicate this whole show to them and pray for peace.

It was the only serious moment in the opening monologue from Parton, who wore a jumpsuit that appeared to be covered in sparkling shards of glass.

“A disco ball just fell on me,” Parton said. “I just hope nothing pierces me.”

Its co-hosts Jimmie Allen and Gabby Barrett followed with performances celebrating the show’s return to its usual hometown after two years in Nashville. They sang the classic “Viva Las Vegas” by Elvis Presley and “Let’s Go to Vegas” by Faith Hill.

Outside of Parton’s presence, there will be little lore on the show, which has moved from network TV to streaming-only, with no TV commercials on Amazon Prime Video.

The year’s top nominee is Chris Young, whose seven nominations, including album of the year and single of the year, come in part because he earned dual nominations as an artist and producer.

Parton is also set to sing on a night where performances will be central – there are 22, while only eight awards will be given.

The return of Morgan Wallen, if he attends and wins major awards, could be one of the central moments of the evening. Wallen is back as a four-time candidate after being dropped from last year’s ACM ballot after being filmed using a racial slur. It has been absent from other awards shows since, although it has slowly returned to the spotlight.

His nominations include album of the year for “Dangerous: The Double Album,” which was the most popular album across all genres last year. He also earned nominations for Male Artist of the Year and Song of the Year.

Attracted by the ACM’s reputation for having a fun, inviting and inclusive atmosphere, Amazon has sought to go beyond the live sporting events it has previously broadcast to connect this with a large audience of fans from countries that listen to Amazon Music.

The show will have a sporty look, with three stages, aerial spider cameras, non-stop action and lots of graphics.

Prizes will be awarded by segments, rather than split between songs, with a 35-minute non-stop block of performances. A post-show edit of the performances only will also be offered.

Honoring ACM Artist of the Year Luke Bryan also has double performances, including his hit “Buy Dirt” with Jordan Davis and a performance of his ballad “Up.” Other performers include Kane Brown, Carrie Underwood, Jason Aldean, Chris Stapleton, Eric Church, Maren Morris, Walker Hayes, Thomas Rhett, Blanco Brown, Brooke Eden, Carly Pearce, Ashley McBryde and BRELAND.

Miranda Lambert has won five nominations, including Artist of the Year, and is now tied with Reba McEntire for her 16th Female Artist of the Year nomination. Walker Hayes, nominated for the first time, also received five nominations, due to Applebee’s viral theme song “Fancy Like”, topping single of the year.

Five-time nominee Chris Stapleton is nominated for Entertainer of the Year, alongside Lambert, Eric Church, Luke Combs and Carrie Underwood.

Along with Morgan, nominees for album of the year include Carly Pearce, Thomas Rhett, Young, Lambert, Jack Ingram and Jon Randall.

jQuery(document).ready( function(){ window.fbAsyncInit = function() { FB.init({ appId: ‘404047912964744’, // App ID channelUrl: ‘ /channel.html’, // Channel File status: true, // check login status cookie: true, // enable cookies to allow the server to access the xfbml session: true // parse XFBML }); FB. Event.subscribe(“edge.create”, function(response) { Tracking.trackSocial(‘facebook_like_btn_click’); });

// START: Facebook clicks on the unlike button FB.Event.subscribe(“edge.remove”, function (response) { Tracking.trackSocial(‘facebook_unlike_btn_click’); }); };

var plusoneOmnitureTrack = function () { $(function () { Tracking.trackSocial(‘google_plus_one_btn’); }) } var facebookCallback = null; requires dependency(‘’, facebookCallback, ‘facebook-jssdk’); });

jQuery(document).ready( function(){ window.fbAsyncInit = function() { FB.init({ appId: '404047912964744', // App ID channelUrl: ' /channel.html', // Channel File status: true, // check login status cookie: true, // enable cookies to allow the server to access the xfbml session: true // parse XFBML }); FB. Event.subscribe("edge.create", function(response) { Tracking.trackSocial('facebook_like_btn_click'); });

// START: Facebook clicks on the unlike button FB.Event.subscribe("edge.remove", function (response) { Tracking.trackSocial('facebook_unlike_btn_click'); }); };

var plusoneOmnitureTrack = function () { $(function () { Tracking.trackSocial('google_plus_one_btn'); }) } var facebookCallback = null; requires dependency('', facebookCallback, 'facebook-jssdk'); });

Read the original article here

Disclaimer! Verve Times is an automatic aggregator of all media in the world. In each content, the hyperlink to the main source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the content owner and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email - [email protected]. Content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Comments are closed.