Wet Leg and Stormzy Win 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards: Full List – Billboard

Wet Leg, Stormzy, Rina Sawayama, Nova Twins and Nia Archives were among the winners of the 2022 AIM Independent Music Awards, held at the Roundhouse in London on Wednesday (September 28). The awards recognize the independent music sector in the UK.

On their UK Independent Breakthrough win, Wet Leg said via video link: “Thank you so much for the Breakthrough Award. It’s been a really crazy year for us and we just want to take this opportunity to thank our team and all the other members of our new family. As a great man once said, “To infinity and beyond!”

Stormzy was honored as a Diversity Champion for using his platform to level the playing field in the music industry. Collecting his award via video link, Stormzy said: “I encourage everyone in the room today to not just use diversity as a buzzword. Whatever position you’re in, whatever roles you might play, try to be a real driver for that and don’t just see it as a quota or a checkbox and really see the value and the value of diversity. Thanks to the AIM Awards and to God be the glory.

This year marked the introduction of two new categories: Best Independent EP/Mixtape and Music Entrepreneur of the Year, won by Scottish producer Taahliahit is Angelica (untitled (recs)) and Corey Johnson (CEO and Founder of Defenders Ent.), respectively. The latter is recognized for his work in founding the studio The Digital Holdings in order to create a safe space in the British rap scene.

The show included performances by The Libertines, Deadly Bizzle and pixely.

Opening this year’s ceremony, AIM’s CEO Paul Pacifico said: “Tonight is about us as a community celebrating the incredible successes of the world renowned UK indie music sector. It’s a fiercely competitive market, but we understand that we’re stronger together and that a win for one of us is a win for all of us.

Here is a full list of the 2022 nominees with the winners marked:

Best Independent Album

Boj- Gbagada express (Moves records)

Children of Zeus – Balance (First word records)

WINNER: Cleo Sol – Mother (Originals still alive)

Dave- We’re all alone together (Neighborhood Records)

Dave Okumu – Knopper (transgressive discs)

Emma-Jean Thackray – Yellow (Movement)

Mustafa- When the smoke rises (Young)

Nilufer Yanya – Painless (ATO Records)

SAULT- NEW (Originals still alive)

Walt Disco- Unlearn (Lucky number)

Best Independent Track

Anz – “You Might Be” (ft. George Riley) (Ninja Tune)

Dave – “Starlight” (neighborhood recordings)

FKA Twigs – “Tears in the Club” ft. the weekend (Young)

Jeshi – “Protein” feat. Obongjayar (Because the music)

Knucks, SL – “Nice & Good” (no days off)

WINNER: Nova Twins – “Antagonist” (Marshall Records)

Overmono – “So U Kno” (XL recordings)

Wet Leg – “Chaise Longue” (Domino Recording Company)

Wu-Lu – “Broken Houses” (Warp Records)

Yves Tumor – “Jackie” (Warp Records)

Independent breakthrough in the UK

Children of Zeus (First Word Records)

Knucks (no days off)

Nova Twins (Marshall Records)

Warmduscher (Bella Union)

WINNER: Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

International breakthrough

Amyl and the Sniffers (Raw Trade)

WINNER: Blxst (Red Bull Records)

Kokoroko (Brownswood Recordings)

Mdou Moctar (Matador Records)

Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Best Live Performer

Ben Bohmer (Anjunadeep)

IDLES (Party Records)

WINNER: Mitski (Dead Oceans)

Shao Dow (DiY Gang Entertainment)

The Hu (better sound)

Better [difficult] second album

Black country, new road – Ants from above (Ninja Melody)

Jana Rush – painful enlightenment (Planet Mu Records)

WINNER: Nilufer Yanya – Painless (ATO Records)

Friends Ross – Tread (Brain Browser)

Tirzah- Shade of color (Domino Registration Company)

Best Independent EP/Mixtape

FKA twigs – CAPRISONS (Young)

Joy Orbison – always slipping vol.1 (XL Recordings)

Surya Sen – At what price ? (Skint Recordings)

WINNER: TAAHLIAH – Angelic (untitled (recs))


Best Independent Remix

ATO / FLOHIO remix of ATO – “no carolina” (MCMXCV)

Mura Masa remix by Erika de Casier – “Polite” (4AD)

WINNER: Champion remix of Ibeyi – “Lavender & Red Roses ft. Jorja Smith” (XL Recordings)

Thom Yorke “Man on Fire” remix by MF DOOM – ‘Gazzillion Ear’ (Lex Records)

Kaydy Cain remix of Shygirl – “BDE” (Because Music)

One to watch

Barry can’t swim (Technicolor/Ninja Tune)

Jeshi (because the music)

Lea Sen (Partisan Records)

WINNER: Nia Archives (HIJINXX)

TAAHLIAH (untitled (recs))

Best Independent Video

Arlo Parks – “Gently” (Transgressive Records)

Ibeyi – “Made of Gold ft. Pa Salieu” (XL Recordings)

WINNER: Jeshi – “3210” (Because the music)

Wesley Joseph – “Cold Summer” (secretly Canadian)

FKA Twigs – “Tears in the Club” ft. the weekend (Young)

PPL Award for Most Performed New Independent Artist

Arlo Parks (Transgressive Discs)

WINNER: DOD (Axtone Records)

KC Lights (Tooling Productions)

Rathbone Place (Good Business Records)

Wet Leg (Domino Recording Company)

Best Creative Campaign

Fountains DC – Partisan Records “Skinty Fia” Campaign

WINNER: Maylee Todd – Stones Throw Records “Maloo” Campaign

Mitski – Dead Oceans “Laurel Hell” Campaign

Obongjayar – September Recordings “Some Nights I Dream of Doors” Campaign

Radiohead – XL Recordings “KID A MNESIA” Campaign

Best Independent Label

Domino Recording Company

ninja melody

Partisan records

WINNER: Raw Commercial Discs

Soundway Recordings

Best Shop Tag

chess club

Edit Folders

Finesse Foreva

WINNER: Local action

rough bone

Music Entrepreneur of the Year

WINNER: Corey Johnson – CEO and Founder of Defenders Ent.

Jamie Oborne – founder of Dirty Hit / All On Red Management

Karen Emanuel – CEO and Founder of Key Production

Laura Lewis-Paul – CEO and Founder of Saffron Music

Peter Adarkwah – BBE Music label owner

And here are the recipients of five non-competitive awards:

Diversity Champions: Storm

Innovator Award: Rina Sawayama

Outstanding Contribution to Music: Deadly Bizzle

Special recognition: The Libertines (Raw Trade)

Independent Champion: Kenny Gates and Michel Lambot from [PIAS]

Comments are closed.