Win Louis wishes you a cool Christmas party on red vinyl E! News UK



Just like Santa Claus himself, Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong dedicated his life to “the cause of happiness”, as he once said, bringing joy to audiences around the world every time he wore his trumpet to his lips or sang with his instantly recognizable sound. , gravelly voice. Yet while Satchmo’s holiday recordings became standard Christmas fare, he never released a Christmas album during his lifetime. Now, for the very first time, Louis Wishes You a Cool Christmas – released October 28 via Verve Records/UMe, features Armstrong’s holiday recordings as a cohesive body of work, marking his first-ever official Christmas album.

Since his passing in 1971, Armstrong has become one of the most performed performers during the holiday season, his golden trumpet tone still able to cut through the din of even the busiest mall. Louis Wishes You A Cool Yule features nearly all of Armstrong’s holiday output: six ’50s Decca singles, including “Cool Yule,” “Christmas Night in Harlem,” and the swinging “Zat You Santa Claus?” The 11-track album also includes duets with two of Pops’ favorite vocal partners, Velma Middleton (“Baby, It’s Cold Outside”) and Ella Fitzgerald (“I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm”).

The collection is completed by the artist’s signature hit, “What a Wonderful World”, which has become something of a one-year-old anthem of hope and celebrates its 65th anniversary this year, as well as a very special gift. for fans: a never-before-seen reading of Samuel Clement Moore’s poem ‘A Visit from St. Nicholas’, popularly known as ‘The Night Before Christmas’. Paired with a groovy musical basement newly recorded by New Orleans pianist Sullivan Fortner, this poignant recording marks the first new piece from Louis Armstrong in more than 20 years and is unique in that it is the last recording he ever made.

Louis Wishes You A Cool Yule will be available in a variety of formats including 180 gram red vinyl, limited edition vinyl picture disc, CD and digital. The album will include new liner notes from GRAMMY®-winning writer Ricky Riccardi, author of two Armstrong biographies (“Heart Full of Rhythm” and “What a Wonderful World”) and Director of Research Collections at the Louis Armstrong House Museum. Additionally, all 11 tracks were mixed in immersive Dolby Atmos and Hi-Res Audio.

Since his passing in 1971, Louis Armstrong’s legacy as one of the most beloved and influential jazz artists of all time has grown steadily, while his enduring catalog of recordings remains timeless. . Born in New Orleans, Armstrong (1901-1971) began his career in the 1920s, bringing his Dixieland experience to Chicago, New York and Los Angeles. By the time he became an internationally acclaimed star in the 1940s, the hardworking singer, bandleader, actor and trumpeter spent nearly 300 days on tour each year. One constant throughout these shows, however, was the Christmas spirit.

As a child, writes Riccardi, Armstrong “didn’t have much time for Christmas…life forced him to drop out of school and go to work as a young boy to help his mother and sister” . After his marriage to Lucille Wilson, however, holidays took on a new meaning, especially when the couple were on the road. Riccardi continues: “As the holidays approached, Lucille bought a small Christmas tree and installed it in their hotel room. According to Lucille, Louis “just looked at it and looked at it and said, ‘This is the first tree I ever had’.” Louis refused to let Lucille remove it and insisted that they take it with them for the rest of the tour. The Armstrongs would continue this tradition, Lucille later remarking that they continued to install “a table tree and holiday paraphernalia in any hotel, no matter what country we were in”.

It is perhaps this love of Christmas that explains Armstrong’s somewhat mysterious reading of “A Visit from St. Nicholas.” Captured months before his death on February 26, 1971, the recording was made by the ailing artist, alone on his home tape recorder. Whether Satchmo is giving fans a final gift or simply finding solace in his favorite holiday, the recording and this album are sure to provide plenty of Christmas magic.

Louis Wishes You A Cool Yule, out October 28 via Verve Records/Ume and is available for pre-order here.


1. Cool Christmas
2. Winter Wonderland
3. Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (with Ella Fitzgerald)
4. Are you Santa Claus?
5. Christmas in New Orleans
6. White Christmas
7. Christmas Night in Harlem
8. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (with Velma Middleton)
9. Moments to Remember
10. What a Wonderful World
11. Reading of “A Visit from St. Nicholas” with Sullivan Fortner, piano accompaniment

1. Cool Christmas
2. Winter Wonderland
3. Got My Love To Keep Me Warm (with Ella Fitzgerald)
4. Are you Santa Claus?
5. Christmas in New Orleans
6. White Christmas

1. Christmas Night in Harlem
2. Baby, It’s Cold Outside (with Velma Middleton)
3. Moments to remember
4. What a wonderful world
5. Reading of “A Visit from St. Nicholas” with Sullivan Fortner, piano accompaniment

We have FOUR COPIES on red vinyl to give away!

To enter, simply nominate an artist from our new ticket directory.

Simply email your REPLY with LOUIS WISHES YOU A COOL YULE in the subject line to, please include your NAME, EMAIL, ADDRESS and TWITTER HANDLE (if available).

It’s so simple! Good luck!

You can double your chances by liking & retweeting the competition on our Competitions Club page @competitionsC. Good luck and tag your friends for additional entries.

For more contest entries, visit our network sites, and

Receive the competitions directly by subscribing to our newsletter here.

Promoter Terms and Conditions.

Become a fan of on Facebook Follow Film-News on Twitter

Comments are closed.